Woods’ Open challenge falls away

Tiger Woods overall performance

Pos Player Country Rnd1 Rnd2 Rnd3 Rnd4 Total Par
                 
T12 Tiger Woods USA 69 74 69 70 282 -2

___

Tiger Woods’ Open challenge faltered on the final day as he could only manage a final-round 70 to give him a Championship total of one under par.

The world number one started the day eight shots off Sergio Garcia’s overnight mark, but birdies on four and five suggested he might make a charge.

However, three bogeys followed as he fell further behind the leading pack.

“I wasn’t as sharp as I needed to be from tee to green this week and that is what cost me,” he told BBC Sport.

“When I got to within putting distance I got that going nicely, but I just didn’t get close enough often enough.

“That said, I had a chance this week. If I could have improved my iron play and my driving I would have been right up there so there’s not too much to be down about.

“I’ve enjoyed myself even though it’s been frustrating.”

When asked about his immediate plans, the 31-year-old’s thoughts immediately turned to wife Elin and newly-born daughter Sam.

“I’ve missed them so much this week,” he said. “I’ve had a great time but I just want to get back home with my family.”

Source: BBC.com

About Anthony Lasala

When i'm not playing sports video games, you might spot me playing Yu Gi Oh 5DS on Xbox Live.

Leave a Reply

